Distracted Driving In Michigan Moving Forward
According to WILX-News 10, Your Breaking News and Weather Authority, three bills that would allow hands free calls and texting have been approved by the House Transportation Committee on May 2.
House Bill 4181 would ban any driver under the age of 18 from using a cell phone while driving. The proposed law would not apply to people who are reporting accidents or other emergencies.
House Bill 4198 and House Bill 4199 would add reading emails or sending messages via social media apps to the list of banned activities for drivers.
The legislation would also increase penalties for texting while driving in Michigan from $100 to $250 for a first violation and from $200 to $500 for a second offense.