Police Enforce Seat Belt Safety Through June 2
With Memorial Day weekend just about here, Michigan police will be checking to see if drivers are wearing their seat belts.
This is all part of the click it or ticket campaign. Police across the state will be increasing seat belt enforcement for the next two weeks.
According to state police, three out of four people ejected from a car in a crash will die. Michigan law requires drivers, front seat passengers, and anyone 15 years old and younger to wear a seat belt.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 48 percent of drivers killed in crashes in 2015 were not wearing seat belts.
Drivers will be fined $65 if they're caught not wearing a seat belt. The seat belt enforcement will run through June 2. Click on WILX News 10, Your Breaking News and Weather Authority.