Thursday's series finale of American Idol paid tribute to the past 15 seasons, with surprise appearances from past finalists, including Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Jennifer Hudson and others before the last American Idol was crowned.

During the last five minutes of the broadcast, Ryan Seacrest revealed that Trent Harmon is the winner of the 15th and final season.

Even though Harmon took home the big prize, a contract with Big Machine Records, La'Porsha Renae didn't walk away empty handed.  Renae also walked away with a recording contract, and both finalists received a Ford Fusion.

One of the best parts of the show last night is when original judges Paula Abdul and Randy Jackson honored Seacrest, the only member of the original cast to last the entire series, with the famous Idol sign.  They were joined by Simon Cowell who then thanked the audience for supporting American Idol for the past 15 years.