According to WILX TV 10, a coalition of 21 states is suing the U.S. Department of Labor over a new rule that would make more higher earning workers eligible for overtime pay.

The measure would repeal the so called white collar exemption and more than double the salary threshold under which employers must pay overtime to their workers.

Some say the rule would burden private and public sectors and represents inappropriate federal overreach.

Other Plaintiffs include Alabama, Arizona, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, South Carolina and several other states.