If you recently moved to Michigan, you may be wondering how long you have before you need to get a Michigan driver's license.

Get our free mobile app

Well, that answer depends on a few factors.

How Long After You Move To Michigan Do You Have To Get A Drivers License?

According to the Michigan Secretary of State, new residents have 30 days to obtain a Michigan driver's license after establishing residency.

How Do You Establish A Residency In Michigan?

There are several ways you can establish residency in Michigan

  • Register to vote in Michigan
Canva
Canva
loading...
  • Enroll your children in a Michigan school
Credit: Canva
Credit: Canva
loading...
  • Obtain a job in Michigan
Resume writer
Canva
loading...
  • Rent or buy a home in Michigan
Home For Sale Real Estate Sign and Beautiful New House.
Feverpitched
loading...

What Do You Do After Established Residency In Michigan?

Once you've established residency in Michigan, you will need to transfer your out-of-state driver's license to Michigan by visiting a Secretary of State branch office.
Google Street View
Google Street View
loading...

What Documents Do You Need To Bring To The Secretary Of State?

According to the Michigan Secretary of State here is what you will need to bring.
  • Your out-of-state driver's license

via GIPHY

  • Proof of your Social Security number

via GIPHY

  • Proof of your Michigan residency, such as a utility bill or lease agreement
Credit: cytonn photography via unsplash
Credit: cytonn photography via unsplash
loading...
  • Payment for the driver's license fee
Win-Cash-Fall-2018-Featured
loading...
  • If you are a non-citizen legally present in the U.S., you will also need to provide proof of your legal presence, such as a valid visa or I-94 form

What Can Happen If You Don't Get A Michigan Drivers License In 30 Days?

If you happen to get pulled over in Michigan with an out-of-state license after the 30-day grace period has expired, you may be subject to a fine.

Credit: Canva
Credit: Canva
loading...

Additionally, your car insurance may not cover you if you are driving with an out-of-state license for an extended period of time.

These 10 Rejected Michigan License Plates Are Hilarious

The state of Michigan released a list of banned vanity plate requests.
There are over 21,000 personalized plates that have been banned by the Michigan Department of State for being dirty, graphic, or hateful. These are some of them.

Famous Celebrities You Might Not Know Are From Michigan

You will definitely recognize these names and faces, but might be surprised to find out they're from Michigan.

Grand Rapids Needs These Popular Restaurants And Businesses in 2023

These are the top restaurants and businesses people in Grand Rapids would like to see open up in 2023.

More From 99.1 WFMK