Lawmakers Proposing Michigan as 15th State to Ban Driving While Holding Phone
Lawmakers are proposing to make Michigan the 15th state to ban driving while holding a hand held phone.
Nearly 12,800 crashes in Michigan last year involved distracted driving, a 70 percent spike from 2015, and more than double the 5,350 crashes in 2014.
According to the Associated Press, the fine for an initial violation would jump from $100 to $250. A second violation would cost the driver $500 instead of $200 and add a point to their license.
A third infraction would bring two more points. The new ban would apply regardless of whether a motorist is stopped at a traffic light.
The law now prohibits texting while operating a vehicle that is moving on a highway or street.