Today the United States celebrates the 75 anniversary of Mount Rushmore , a monument also known as the Shrine of Democracy.  The scenic South Dakota mountain emblazoned with the faces of four U.S. Presidents is one of the biggest and most iconic attractions in America.

Each year millions of people trek through South Dakota's Black Hills National Forest to get a glimpse of the iconic Mount Rushmore sculpture, which features 60 foot carvings of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Theodore Roosevelt.

Mount Rushmore received its name in 1884, long before anyone thought to carve President's faces into the side of the mountain.  Charles E. Rushmore, a Lawyer from New York, visited the black Hills as part of a mining inspection when he stumbled upon the mountain, which had no name at the time, and deemed it Rushmore Peak, which then later became Mount Rushmore.

It wasn’t until the early 1920's when South Dakota's state historian Duane Robinson proposed the idea to sculpt faces of historical Presidents on the mountain in an effort to promote more national interest in the black hills.

Work on the monument began in 1927 and ended in 1941, and it certainly has brought more interest to the black hills,  Millions visit the iconic monument every year.

Happy 75th Anniversary Mount Rushmore.

Getty Images